top of page

Working Dogs Book One

Special Agent Nolan Hudson 

At seventeen, I ran. I joined the military and planned to never step foot in my home town again. Nothing could make me return to that hellhole and the pain I buried there, or so I thought— until I found myself on a plane to that very place. 

Almost two decades later, I’m forced home to help find a missing nine year old. As a member of the most elite K9 special unit in the country, it was my job and you can’t exactly say no to the FBI. It should be easy, and I won’t have to face what I ran from. 

However, the case is anything but simple and to make matters worse, I’m faced with the last person I ever wanted to see again:

Officer Callum Stone— the sheriff’s son and the town’s golden boy. Only he’s not anymore—he’s a ruin of what he once was. 

It’s Callum’s kid who’s missing, and all the feelings I’d spent almost twenty years running from rise to the surface. 

As secrets come to light, we realize our small town is hiding a lot more than we thought, and we’ll have to follow the trail of deception to get justice and maybe a second chance at love. 

Scapegoat is a second chance MM romantic suspense, featuring a small town, some FBI K9 fun, and hurt/comfort vibes. It is the first book in J.R. Gray's Working Dogs series, which will be packed with action, suspense, and humor.

ScapegoatEbook copy.jpg
scapegoatteaser6 copy.jpg
scapegoatteaser2 copy.png
scapegoatteaser3 copy.jpg
More books in the Working Dog Series
sittingducksfinal copy.jpg
Endlessnight copy.png
scapegoatteaser4 copy.jpg
bottom of page